Exhibiting at the Stanford Harvest 6: Jean Jonker

Tuesday June 16 the exhibition ‘Stanford Local Art Harvest‘ opened in the gallery of  Stanford Harvest. Stanford is home to a variety of artists. In the course of this exhibition we will introduce them all in this blog. Today: Jean Jonker.

The exhibition lasts to 19 July.

sh-jeanjonker2

sh-jeanjonker1“I was born, on the 2 August 1976,in Pretoria to a creative family of painters & musician. You might say its in the blood. From a young age I was always panting and drawing to keep myself busy. I attended Die Kruin (Afrikaans Art School) in Johannesburg which eventually became one with The National School of the Arts in Braamfontein Johannesburg. Here I had painting, drawing and graphics as my main art subjects. Here also the love of print became clear to me and the love of history. I have an even greater love for my two children, Dylan 16 and my daughter Jade 11. After a life threatening event two years ago I realised that my creative energy had to be revived and I knew that the greatest happiness for me is to be an artist, to be surrounded by kaleidoscope of colour, scenes, beauty and to be alive. I have recently brushed up on my printing and I am happy to wake up each morning with the beauty of a Stanford sunrise, to be active as an artist, spend time with my children watch them grow, walk my dogs next to the river and happy to still be alive to witness the sunset everyday. I you would like to contact me I can be reached at jeanjonker@gmail.com or on my Facebook page Jean’s art & nursery. I am busy setting up a website which will be up and running by the end of the year.”  – Jean Jonker.

NOTE: This Winter season Stanford Harvest is open Friday and Saturdays 9am to 4pm. Sundays 9am to 11am for breakfasts and 12am for Sunday Roast Buffet.
If people want to see the gallery during other days and times they may contact Lynn on 081 021 2313 for an appointment.

2 thoughts on “Exhibiting at the Stanford Harvest 6: Jean Jonker

  1. Pingback: Exhibiting at the Stanford Harvest 6: Jean Jonker | Life in a village named Stanford

  2. Pingback: Exhibiting at the Stanford Harvest 6: Jean Jonker | My Choice

Leave a Reply

